RIYL: City Pop

Label: Light in the Attic

Limited “Beach Ball” Tricolor (Blue, Yellow, Red) Vinyl 2xLP
Over Sized Fold-Out Booklet, Full Color Printed Inner Sleeves, & Custom Die-Cut OBI Card

Note: There’s also a Pink ‘US Indie Retail’ Edition, so check your local shops!

Light In The Attic Records has put something really special together with Pacific Breeze, a decades-spanning compilation delving into some of the the best of Japanese City Pop. From the die-cut OBI to the cover art by famed artist Hiroshi Nagai, this release has it all. Get the “Beach Ball” colored variant while supplies last! Stream the release on the sales page and check out the groove.

Pacific Breeze documents Japan’s blast into the stratosphere. By the 1960s, the nation had achieved a postwar miracle, soaring to become the world’s second largest economy. … Japan’s financial buoyancy also permeated its popular culture, birthing an audio analog called City Pop.”

The Details


01. Tomoko Soryo – ‘I Say Who’
02. Taeko Ohnuki – ‘Kusuri Wo Takusan’
03. Minako Yoshida – ‘Midnight Driver’
04. Nanako Sato – ‘Subterranean Futari Bocci’
05. Haruomi Hosono – ‘Sports Men’
06. Izumi Kobayashi – ‘Coffee Rumba’
07. F.O.E. – ‘In My Jungle’
08. Akira Inoue, Hiroshi Sato, Masataka Matsutoya – ‘Sun Bathing’
09. Hiroshi Satoh – ‘Say Goodbye’
10. Yukihiro Takahashi – ‘Drip Dry Eyes’
11. Masayoshi Takanaka – ‘Bamboo Vender’
12. Shigeru Suzuki – ‘Lady Pink Panther’
13. Haruomi Hosono, Takahiko Ishikawa, Masataka Matsutoya – ‘Mykonos No Hanayome’
14. Yasuko Agawa – ‘L.A. Night’
15. Hitomi Tohyama – ‘Exotic Yokogao’
16. Tazumi Toyoshima – ‘Machibouke’

Additional Images

Price $36

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive