This one’s for you night owls, you city slickers.

Dan Boeckner (Wolf Parade, Handsome Furs) has still got that fire, that junky itch, that sweltering hunger for creating and organizing pop structured sonic thumpings. Boeckner has teamed up with Sam Brown (New Bomb Turks) and (Macedonian/Californian musician Devojka who’s got a bit of her own gothwave brewing ( Gone are the days where Beockner was cut from the same cloth as Frog Eyes, and into his own he’s become. Operators offer up a devilishly confident electronic rock record in EP1 while flirting with the brash elements that 80s new wave had to offer.

EP1 was released by modern cult label Last Gang Records on half red & half black wax and limited to 500 copies. With new material being released via digital and being played live we’re probably closer rather than further from a full length release from the Boeckner led Operators. Check out the EP, KEXP, Q on CBC performance and see where the bands direction is headed with their latest single, “Ecstasy in my House.”

Back Cover Via Discogs.Com

*As this was written LGR has informed me there are only 24 copies left!
**Special thanks to Gregory Van Bastelaar @ LGR for the deets!
***This record is readily available to ship!
****Album is priced $16 CAD

The Details

Operators is Dan Boeckner’s (Wolf Parade, Handsome Furs, Divine Fits) brand new analog/electronic/dance project, and we are excited to announce the release of their debut offering, EP1: an upbeat, aggressively melodic collection of synth driven pop songs. The EP will be out this Tuesday, August 5th, and they have released the first track from the EP “True”.

Dan Boeckner has shown his diverse musical taste over the years; consequently, his decision to focus his attention on a new, electronic dance project shouldn’t be surprising as it feels like nothing more than a natural progression from the first synth he bought for the debut Wolf Parade EP, to the primarily stark, digital sounds of Handsome Furs, and now the organic, melted, deeply dance driven Operators. Recorded at Montreal’s Hotel2Tango, the five track EP1 features “True” and four other new tracks, functioning as the band’s defacto mission statement.

Consequence of Sound praised “True”, noting “Boeckner emphatically swoons about “one true love” over an ’80s-indebted backdrop of shimmering synths and booming bass. Infectious and danceable, “True” is New Wave for 2014.”

Even before releasing any music, Operators played a handful of shows showcasing all previously unheard songs. This included Toronto Music Week in June, where the band (who had released no music and posted no information about themselves online) sold out a three night residency at the Silver Dollar Room. Huffington Post remarked the band was “an electronic rock group so good that first night I went and saw them again the next two nights, too.” Noisey was there too, saying “The performance wasn’t just energetic, it was frenetic…Operators’ music is all hooks—it’s dance pop. It’s direct, it’s immediately accessible…”


Side A:
1. True
2. Book Of Love
3. Cruel

Side B:
4. Ancient
5. Start Again

Price $13

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive