The Vinyl Factory brings yet another quality remix single from Massive Attack’s Robert del Naja, aka 3D. Del Naja’s collaborations have all been top notch thus far, and his decision to remix Noel Gallagher has been twenty years in the making since the two met at the Brits in 1995. Robert del Naja gives an already brooding and melancholic song a few dollops more of darkness and frankly, you could think of this as Massive Attack’s take if you wanted. The original even sounds like Massive Attack if they decided to take a more acoustic route. As for the first version (which is available in full, at press time), it really sounds like a Heligoland B-side – del Naja truly makes it his own. Now for us North Americans (and most of us outside of the UK) that price is going to be a bit prohibitive, but as with past Battle Boxes I guess this is to be expected by now. Listen to the original below via the YouTube video and the remix by clicking through the Buy Now button – I unfortunately can’t directly link the SoundCloud stream to you. See what you think of it. Cheers!

The Details

Product Details:
* Massive Attack's 3D remixes Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds
* Two remixes of 'The Right Stuff'
* Pressed on 180-gram heavyweight vinyl
* Screen printed cover artwork by Paul Insect
* Limited edition of 500 copies

Massive Attack’s 3D remixes Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds’ ‘The Right Stuff’ for the latest release on his Battle Box label; a collaboration with The Vinyl Factory.

Featuring two heavy, atmospheric and epic electronic reworkings by Robert del Naja, pressed as a limited edition of 500 copies with screen-printed sleeve artwork by Paul Insect, this is sure to become a coveted collectors edition.

Del Naja's extended reworkings of ‘The Right Stuff’ take the track in a completely new direction. 3D said of the remix ‘High Flying Birds in 3D’, "It was a good opportunity to take a great song, slow it right down, remove the guitars and then scratch the clarinet backwards."

Noel Gallagher said, “I remember being at The Brits in '95 and D offering to do a Massive Attack remix of 'Cast No Shadow'. The idea was never followed through and it's something I've regretted ever since. It's nice to finally scratch the itch somewhat."

Vinyl Tracklisting

A. The Right Stuff (3D Version 1)
B. The Right Stuff (3D Version 2)

Available to pre-order now; released 31 July.

Price $39.04

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive