RIYL: Syd Barret, Vivian Stanshall, Billy Childish, Experimental acoustic DIY blues/folk/psych

Label: Stolen Body Records

Dan Melchior has a new double album out via Stolen Body Records on the 19th of August. A Medway scene original (dwelling in Oregon), Melchior has released 30-something albums and tons of EPs and singles since the late 90’s (solo and with DM’s Broke Revue and DM und Das Menace), and collaborated with ao. Billy Childish and Holly Golightly.  This one inhabits 28 tracks of DIY experimental (mostly acoustic) blues/folk/psych tunes recorded from 2009-2015 to explore. On one end some great tunes to showcase his craftmaship as a DIY lo-fi singer/songwriter, on the other some far-out playing around with various effects, most somewhere in between. Nomatter what end of the scale, the sounds are brimful of brilliant ideas executed with a rugged, raw feel and blue soul.


The Details

Double colour vinyl in gatefold sleeve. Two different colours for each vinyl. Limited edition of 250.

Filthy Frozen River Rag’ is a collage of snapshots – a high(low?)light reel of a period of time when things were in a definite state of flux. The tracks drift in and out of cohesion, and things occasionally veer off into a no man’s land similar to the grey area between dreams and REM sleep, with the occasional nightmare thrown in for good measure

Although there is a mix of full band tracks and solo performances, the majority of the material is made up of rough hewn acoustic songs that were recorded in that manner intentionally, and not as sketches or demos (how much better are some of those Ray Davis demos than finished Kinks songs?)

Dan Melchior is originally from the suburbs of London, though he has been living in the USA for the last 16 years.
First appearing on record in 1997, he has since recorded over 35 lps, and collaborated with artists as diverse as Billy Childish and Graham Lambkin.

He is arguably the only artist to have emerged from the ‘Medway Scene’ that has actually managed to plough a furrow outside of that very narrow field.

In the worlds of Steve Lowenthal – ‘Dan Melchior is an anomaly in the modern music world, even for the underground. As one of the world’s last truly great songwriters, Melchior’s voice grows stronger than ever over a string of recent releases by his “band” Das Menace. His music can’t be neatly partitioned into a narrow genre although one can detect elements of blues, vintage R&B, British psych pop and more recently even brazen experimentalism

Track list:

1. Ice Cream And Hailstones
2. Oyster Oyster
3. New Pair Of Trousers
4. Ozzy Feldman One
5. Rotten Rubber Rabbit
6. War Dance
7. Says The Engineer
8. Terse And Taciturn
9. My Wasteland
10. It’s a Hard Life At Sea
11. Ozzy Feldman Two
12. Eyehooks For Andrew
13. Seabed Boogie
14. Gel Crash Helmet
15. My Card Ran Out
16. Pyre
17. Noel Edmond’s Wife
18. The Worlds So Strange
19. Mock Mock Tudor
20. Ozzy Feldman Three
21. The Spider In My Shoes
22. City Lights
23. They Made You Grey
24. Two Dogs
25. When They Come
26. Ozzy Feldman Four
27. Trying To Act Cool In A Village Blues
28. Propagando Cult

Price $26

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive