RIYL: Alabama Shakes, Leon Bridges, Nina Simone

Label: Columbia

The debut album from the Alabama Shakes vocalist will be dropping September 13, 2019 on ATO. With the freedom of expression, Brittany Howard looks in all sorts of directions to create an unmistakable and unique sound, embodying funk, soul and blues all with an electronic sound on the single, “History Repeats”. This album should be a very interesting listen. Here’s a little more from Rough Trade:

The debut album from Brittany Howard of the Alabama Shakes was composed and assembled over the course of several years. Jaime is a highly personal album release combining Brittany’s unmistakable voice with peerless, visionary and fearless songwriting. Brittany has constructed an assemblage of songs which bend the framework of what we know from her previous work with Alabama Shakes and endeavors with Thunderbitch and Bermuda Triangle, music which wholly sits in a new terrain of sound bolstered by an incredible band of musicians including Zac Cockrell of the Shakes, drummer Nate Smith and the one and only Robert Glasper.

This will be available in deluxe form from ATO (Cheaper at Shakeit on the buy now link), the sandstone version available at her Bandcamp, the indie sunburst limited to 5000 (US Rough Trade) and the Rough Trade Sandstone with bonus 7″ limited to 750 (UK Rough Trade).

[Note: the US Rough Trade site has the Black/White Mix listed as limited to 4000. ATO has it listed as 1000]

The Details

ATO Details: Limited-Edition 180 Gram LP
Animated zoetrope labels
Limited to 1,000 units
Black/White Mix Colored Vinyl
Embossed foil LP jacket with custom inner-sleeve and insert.
Includes digital download

Rough Trade Details:
Sandstone Coloured Vinyl.
Limited to 750 copies
180 Gram Vinyl With Bonus 7".

Additional Images

Price $26

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive