RIYL: Allah Las, MGMT, Dungen

Label: Mexican Summer

I think we should just chill the hell out. Lets take our jalopy and cruise the coastline looking for some remote location to start a bonfire and recline in the sand, all while listening to Self Discovery for Social Survival. Nothing really says chillout surf music like the Allah Las, which are featured on the first part of this album, in instrumental form, which accompanies a film by the label itself. This is limited to 1000 worldwide and would be perfect for this warm summer nights.

From Mexican Summer:

Self Discovery for Social Survival is a collaborative film between independent record label Mexican Summer and Pilgrim Surf + Supply, a New York-based surf and outdoor brand. “The idea was to send surfers and musicians off on these trips together,” explains director and Pilgrim proprietor Chris Gentile. “Get them out there amongst it—in the surf, in the afterglow of the surf, talking story at dinner, just all the great stuff that happens on a surf trip. Then, right after their trips, the musicians jump into the studio and compose based on their experiences. With their hair still wet, so to speak.”

SDSS works as a triptych – narrated by the recently late, legendary avant-garde film-maker Jonas Mekas, a voice holding as much depth as the ocean itself. The story of which the narration belongs to breaks up the almost entirely dialogue-less film, and was scribed by Jamie Brisick, a professional surfer turned writer. Travelling from Mexico to the Maldives, and finally, to Iceland with world-renowned, award- winning surfers from all over the world, SDSS captures the international, interweaving, and universal language of surf culture.

In Mexico, Los Angeles psych ensemble Allah Las, join surf historians and professional surfers from the US (Ryan Burch, Richard Kenvin, Devon Howard, CJ Nelson, Karina Rozunko and Corey Colapinto) and Australia (Ellis Ericson) in sipping tequila, hanging ten across winding waves, and stumbling upon a super-secret surf break (the location of which they will never reveal). Walking up and down the boards as effortlessly as spooning bread to butter, the free surfers, longboard stylists, and single fin riders playfully merge with Robert Beatty and Bailey Elder’s animations that accompany the film, while still holding their own.

Meanwhile, the Allah Las return to their home studio to set off to record with their analog equipment, this time ripping on the sound waves. The five songs by Allah Las on the soundtrack, entirely instrumental and all aligned by different variations of fruit jams, lay the foundation of classic surf aesthetic: tingling guitars, sporadic yet attentive percussion, and rolling bass lines.


1.  Dungen – Var Har Du Varit
2.  Allah Las – Mulberry Jam
3.  Jefre Cantu-Ledesma – Breeze
4.  Allah Las – Raspberry Jam
5.  Allah Las – Blueberry Jam
6.  Jefre Cantu-Ledesma – Swell
7.  Allah Las – Boysenberry Jam
8.  Allah Las – Blackberry Jam
9.  Connan Mockasin & Andrew VanWyngarden – Bad Boys
10. Peaking Lights – Mirror In The Sky
11. Connan Mockasin & Andrew VanWyngarden – Surf Or Not
12. Connan Mockasin & Andrew VanWyngarden – Aurora Borawhatawhata
13. Peaking Lights – Hold On
14. Connan Mockasin & Andrew VanWyngarden – Mountain Pass

The Details

Limited vinyl pressing, 1000 units worldwide

LP includes exclusive, hand-numbered poster design by Robert Beatty (Tame Impala / Ariel Pink / U.S. Girls)

June 14, 2019

Additional Images

Price $19

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive