To continue on the theme from yesterday’s piece about Tiago Sousa & João Correia, this is another collaboration of sorts. Dino Spiluttini and Nils Quak aren’t exactly collaborating, but they are sharing EPs on each side of this limited LP. Modular Anxiety is due out next week, January 28th, so there’s only two tracks to preview from this thing – one each from Spiluttini and Quak. Nils Quak’s “Tropic Spirals” is just that. The song is a seven minute descent down in to a canyon of static that spirals in to a quieted last gasp of breath as the synthesizers trail off, with only the ominous noise keeping you company after all is said and done. Dino Spiluttini’s “Anxiety,” as the song name, is also quite telling; the endless sputtering of the analog synthesizer fails to get off the ground as the crashing and swelling waves of majestic noise attempt to quell it. Check out each of the tracks below via the Soundcloud players and see what you think of them. Cheers!

If you live in the EU, order from here:



[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=000000″ width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=000000″ width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

The Details

Modular Anxiety is a split LP comprised of 10 tracks that presents an audacious and fresh face in the land of ambient / drone synth music. One side belongs to Dino Spiluttini (with works on Home Normal and Beatismurder) and the other to Nils Quak (who has released on labels such as Nomadic Kids Republic and Sis Sic Tapes).

Vinyl LP limited edition of 300 copies packaged in an uncoated stock jacket with double sided insert, black inner polylined sleeve, and free download coupon. First 170 copies on “gold” colored vinyl, remaining copies on black.

This is a pre-order for January 28, 2014 release date. All orders for Modular Anxiety will ship by the street date.

Price $17

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive