RIYL: Parenthetical Girls, Psychic TV, Swans, Former Ghosts

Label: Polyvinyl Records, Teenage Menopause Records, Upset the Rhythm Records

After the success of the Twin Peaks album, Xiu Xiu has a new record planned to drop in February. There are 4 shops where you can get the limited edition version, but some of them are going to have international shipping.

Limited Teenage Menopause Records

Light Blue / Transparent Wax Hazed Vinyl Limited to 100

Early Bird Edition From Polyvinyl Records

180-Gram Pink/Light Blue Starburst Limited to 600

Altin Village & Mine of EU

 Upset the Rhythm of UK

Light Blue Dust/Clear Vinyl Limited to 300

Verified UK version limited to 300 by Christopher Tipton from Upset the Rhythm. Per Jim Kühnel of Altin Village, this is the same release as Upset the Rhythm.

»Forget« was recorded during a period of epic productivity for Xiu Xiu. While writing »Forget«, they released the lauded »Plays the Music of Twin Peaks«, collaborated with Mitski on a song for an upcoming John Cameron Mitchell film, composed music for art installations by Danh Vo, recorded an album with Merzbow and scored an experimental reworking of the Mozart opera, The Magic Flute. All of this frantic, external activity lead to a softly damaged dreaminess and broadened intent that has not been heard before in other Xiu Xiu works.

The album was produced by John Congleton (Blondie, Sigur Ros), Greg Saunier of Deerhoof and Xiu Xiu’s own Angela Seo. It features guest appearances by fabled minimalist composer Charlemagne Palestine, L.A. Banjee Ball superstar commentator Enyce Smith, Swans guitar virtuoso Kristof Hahn and legendary drag artist and personal hero of Xiu Xiu, Vaginal Davis.

The calligraphy on the cover translates literally to »we forget«. It bows to the universality of everything and everyone’s inevitable decline and foggy disappearance. Regarding the album title, Xiu Xiu singer Jamie Stewart said, »To forget uncontrollably embraces the duality of human frailty. It is a rebirth in blanked out renewal but it also drowns and mutilates our attempt to hold on to what is dear«. »Forget« is both the palliative fade out of a traumatic’s past but also the trampling pain of a beautiful one’s decay.

Produced by John Congleton, Greg Saunier & Angela Seo; Recorded by Jamie Stewart at Nurse; Mixed by John Congleton at Elmwood; Mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side

The Details

3 different pressings that are limited to a certain amount. I emailed the latter two to get the pressing quantity.
Pre-orders will ship on 02/15/2017 for polyvinyl and EU release will ship on 02/21/2017. Official release date is February 24th, 2017.

Additional Images

Price $18

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive