RIYL: Cocteau Twins, Alvvays, Japanese Breakfast

Label: Dirty Hit/RCA

London anthemic rock 4-piece Wolf Alice have been around for a decade now, but the immediacy of their 2015 debut My Love Is Cool was the spark that ignited their decorated career, crossing over to statewide critical acclaim with the dreamy alt-rock ballad Silk that ended up on the Trainspotting 2 soundtrack. Ellie Rowsell’s multi-ranged vocal prowess and Jonathan Oddie’s surreal guitar textures were enough to grow their fanbase enormously in the following years, winning the 2017 UK Mercury Prize for their sophomore follow-up Visions of a Life and even getting recognition from Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn.

And now, their much anticipated third record arrives this summer. Titled Blue Weekend, we’ve already been treated to their first single The Last Man On Earth, an arena-ready slow burner with enough raw emotion to propel every lighter from every parka around the world to the heavens. It’s so good it hurts my feelings. Listen to it below.

As far as variants go, you’ve got options. Rough Trade, linked after the ‘buy’ button, has a blue vinyl copy limited to 1500 copies. Rough Trade UK has a red vinyl variant limited to 3000 copies HERE as well as the blue vinyl. There’s also a yellow variant you can grab HERE and a green variant, with or without autographs, you can get HERE straight from the band. Happy hunting.

The Details

Blue Weekend:

01 The Beach
02 Delicious Things
03 Lipstick on the Glass
04 Smile
05 Safe From Heartbreak (if you never fall in love)
06 How Can I Make It OK?
07 Play the Greatest Hits
08 Feeling Myself
09 The Last Man on Earth
10 No Hard Feelings
11 The Beach II

Price $32.99

Listen on Spotify

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive