… Like Clockwork is a favorite over here at Sly Vinyl. Earlier in the year there was a limited edition for this but, alas, another one has risen up that can be purchased by you – the prized and beloved reader and consumer. This limited edition is apparently meant for the UK market but the rest of us around the world can still buy it. This time around, it’s a black on black cover and it results in a great minimalist take on the strange cover, where you can only see the vampire and his victim along with the zero. There’s not much to say as chances are you’ve probably already heard some (if not all of) the album. This is another release that showcases modern renaissance man Josh Homme’s lyrical prowess and musical talent. This is something you really have to experience in a front-to-back run through to fully appreciate what Homme has done this time around. The price for us statesiders comes out to almost $50 with current exchange rates, but if you really like QOTSA this purchase won’t be a waste in the slightest. Check out … Like Clockwork below via the Spotify player and see what you think of it. Cheers!

Correction to the numbers: 1200 for the USA, 800 for the UK, and 400 for the rest of the world
A cheaper price has been found – almost ten dollars cheaper. Updated the Buy Now link with the new site.

The Details

Special ‘Black On Black’ edition of ‘…Like Clockwork’, with deluxe 180gm double vinyl in a gatefold sleeve featuring refined black on black artwork with printed inners (limited edition of 800 copies for the UK).

For their first album in six years, Joshua Homme’s mighty Queens Of The Stone Age called back classic members Dave Grohl and Joey Castillo on drums, and Nick Oliveri and Mark Lanegan on vocals. In addition, some big names came in to perform: Elton John, Trent Reznor, Alex Turner (Arctic Monkeys), Jake Shears (Scissor Sisters), James Lavelle (U.N.K.L.E.) and more. Of course, the current lineup of Troy Van Leeuwen, Michael Shuman and Dean Fertita also feature throughout.

‘...Like Clockwork’ contains Homme’s most intense, personal and beautiful songwriting to date. While the thunder of Queens past is still evident (especially in lead single ‘My God Is The Sun’) there are a number of gorgeous ballads - meditations on time passing, the struggle to create art, and the nearness of mortality.

The striking album artwork, imagery and intro animations are by young British artist Boneface, working closely with Homme.

1. Keep Your Eyes Peeled
2. I Sat By The Ocean
3. The Vampyre of Time and Memory
4. If I Had A Tail
5. My God Is The Sun
6. Kalopsia
7. Fairweather Friends
8. Smooth Sailing
9. I Appear Missing
10. …Like Clockwork

Price $40.65

Listen on Spotify

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive