RIYL: Dinosaur Jr. / Sebadoh / Pavement / Elliott Smith / Alex G (Sandy) / Bored Nothing / Teenage Fanclub (early years)

Label: Modern Sky Entertainment

Back in late 2016 I stumbled across the S/T EP by Navy Gangs, resulting in one of the best pieces of advice I came up with throughout the year; “You. must. listen. to. this. EP”.  Being around in the 90’s, their sound just blew me away with it’s blend of everything great about the DIY indie-scene from back in the daze. Power pop-riffs by buzzing guitars (solos fuzzed out to the brink of bursting), pounding backline (got that laidback-feel), the seemingly effortless performed slow modulation between keys in multifaceted vocals.. Think the attitude of early Dinosaur Jr. and Pavement blending with the feels of Elliott Smith and Alex G.

Modernt Sky just released their debut-album “Poach” and it is everything I came to expect from these guys. Catchy as fudge, with so many clever shifts and details in the arrangements –  listen close and there’s goosebumps to be found within every track! Spread the word good folks, this band is bound to blow up anytime soon. With only 250 copies pressed, you’ll be glad you jumped on it early.

Be sure to grab the 7″ also if you haven’t!


The Details

Poach 12" Vinyl

1. 1Alone
2. Dark Days
3. Elf City Music
4. Project 26
5. Vampire
6. Set Alarm
7. Wide Awake
8. Awkward Exchange
9. Just Kidding Not
10. True Defensive
11. 91 Days
12. Carrot Tops
13. Diorama
14. Housekeeping

Includes unlimited streaming of Poach via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
ships out within 5 days

Price $18

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive