RIYL: dub techno

Label: Ferro

Ferro is back with another luscious compilation with a dub techno bent. I wrote about their second volume in the series a while back, and I’m happy it’s continuing onward. The artists featured on this fourth volume include Zzzzra, Julio, D’Evoe, Mount Wishmore Unlimited, IASI, Lab Matix, Profile, and IMG_02. Most of these names are new to me (Zzzzra, Lab Matix and Mount Wishmore Unlimited are the only ones I admittedly recognize, with Mount Wishmore Unlimited being an alias of The Marx Trukker), but the almost fifteen minute long snippet doesn’t have a dull moment on it. I’m not sure we’re going to get much more than this to go off of for the purchase, but I believe this should give you enough of a taste to determine whether to go in on this or not. The tape’s overall length isn’t specified at press time, but I think you’ll get your money’s worth. Listen to the preview below via the Bandcamp player and see what you think of it. Cheers!

The Details

• edition of 100 cassettes
• thereof 50 with exclusive art-print (297 x 210 mm)
• white C60 cassette with transparent case
• full colored 3-panel j-card
• 12 different tape-stickers on B-side
• download code printed on tape
Eight dubbed out techno cuts with a futuristic twist blending the memories of nineties dub techno with contemporary sound aesthetics. What happened remains uncertain ...

A1 Julio – Dub Tales I
A2 D’Evoe – Dusted
A3 Zzzzra – Cavalier Prend Reine
A4 IASI – Finances (The Asset Edit)
B1 Mount Wishmore Unlimited – A.F.R.
B2 Lab Matix – Yoruba Chant
B3 Profile – Choose Life
B4 IMG_02 – Metropolis
releases June 23, 2016

· Mastered by SALZ (www.salz-mastering.com)
· Artwork by Alex Ketzer (www.alexketzer.com)
· Distributed by Noorden (www.noorden.org)

Price $9.11

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel via Twitter.
What Do You Think of This Release?
  • Buying!
  • Maybe Buy
  • Not My Style
  • Too Expensive